English | Français

Friends of CIHR Sponsors

Dr. David Naylor - 2018 Friesen PrizeMarch 20, 2018 – Toronto
Friends of CIHR is pleased to announce that Dr. David Naylor, OC, MD, DPhil, FRCPC, FRSC, FCAHS, physician-scientist, academic leader, creative force in health services research, advisor to governments on health policy, is awarded the 2018 Henry G. Friesen International Prize in Health Research.

Dr. Aubie Angel, President, Friends of CIHR, notes that “David’s remarkable capacity to analyze and unravel the complexities of the Canadian healthcare system, together with the ability to communicate it eloquently and lucidly, is unique and explains his reputation as a thought leader”.FCIHR_AIRSC logo


2017 Friesen Prize Public Forum Lecture at U Ottawa
Featuring Dr. Alan Bernstein


2017 POSTER - 2017 Friesen Prize Public Forum Lecture - October 31, 2017

OFFICIAL PHOTO - Alan Bernstein - From Gail Martin CIFAR - Received on March 15, 2017 - Alan Bernstein - photoMarch 30, 2017 – Massey College
Friends of CIHR is pleased to announce that Dr. Alan Bernstein, O.C., PhD, FRSC, FCAHS, President of the Canadian Institute For Advanced Research (CIFAR), has been awarded the 2017 Henry G. Friesen International Prize in Health Research.

Dr. Bernstein is renowned as a stem cell and cancer scientist, as an institutional leader in Canada and as the inaugural President of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). During his tenure (2000-2007), the budget tripled and the number of young scientists and trainees doubled. Canadian health research became recognized internationally for its leading-edge contributions in basic biological research. All along, he has been a vocal advocate for fundamental science as the cornerstone for innovation and has championed advanced research at a global level.

Dr. Bernstein was exemplary in nurturing a legacy of outstanding graduate students and post-doctoral fellows over a 30-year period of academic research, many of whom have gone on to make major contributions in genomic science and stem cell biology.

Dr. Bernstein is the recipient of major awards and honours, including the Order of Canada, election to the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, Fellowship in the Royal Society of Canada and the Gairdner Foundation Wightman Award.

FCIHR and the Friesen Prize Program are honoured to welcome and congratulate Dr. Alan Bernstein on this singular honour and look forward to his Lectures and Institutional visits, as a Science advocate beginning in November 2017.

OFFICIAL PHOTO - Dr. Janet Rossant - Photo Credit: The Canada Gairdner Foundation - Received on April 5, 2016CONGRATULATIONS, DR. JANET ROSSANT!

The 2016 Henry G. Friesen International Prize in Health Research is awarded to Dr. Janet Rossant, CC, PhD, FRS, FRSC, a developmental and stem cell biologist, educator, institutional builder and public advocate.
Toronto CNW – April 4, 2016 – Dr. Aubie Angel, President, Friends of CIHR, notes that: “Janet Rossant’s selfless commitment to science, education and human well-being is exceptional and profound.” Her expertise in stem cell biology informed the scientific and ethical debate surrounding cloning and had a major role in establishing guidelines for human embryonic stem cell research in Canada and beyond.